Nids de Tartiflette

I first had nids de tartiflette aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine in a small restaurant on La Grave with Pied-de-Vent cheese. I returned home from that visit, my mind made up that I could make them too with the cheese we brought home.  My first couple of tries were disasters and I decided it was not meant to be. Then, this past Christmas, I received The Little Paris Kitchen by Rachel Khoo which has a really great (and easy!) recipe for nids de tartiflette.

Nids the tartiflette are cheese and potato nests (two of my favourite foods!). The great thing about this recipe is that you can easily make it with any type of cheese (cheddar, brie, parmesan, etc.) and you can add spices and herbs. They are tasty on their own as an appetizer, or can be part of a main meal. (We had ours with Cajun-blackened trout and salad). They re-heat well the next day for leftovers (if they last that long!)

This attempt at the nids de tartiflette was a great success. I used two products from my home – Prince Edward Island red potatoes and Newman Estate Winery New White wine. (and now I cannot wait to head to les Îles next weekend and bring home some delicious cheese to make more!)Nids de Tartiflette

Nids de Tartiflette (makes 5-7 nests)

(adapted from The Little Paris Kitchen by Rachel Khoo)

Ingredients

olive oil

1 lb potatoes, shredded (I used red-skinned PEI potatoes)

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

1 bay leaf

4 slices of bacon, chopped (this can be pre-cooked)

6 tbsp dry white wine (I used Newman’s New White)

½ cup of cubed cheese (I used Emmentaler)

½ cup shredded cheese (I used Parmesan) – if using soft cheese such as brie, slice thinly

These were made and enjoyed with Newman Estate Winery New White

These were made and enjoyed with Newman Estate Winery New White

Method

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease a six-muffin tin with olive oil.

Put onion, garlic, bay leaf, and bacon into large nonstick frying pan. (You can add a bit of oil or butter if ingredients are sticking). Cook until onions are golden and bacon is cooked through. Remove bay leaf. Add wine and cook until reduced to about 2 tablespoons. Add potatoes and cook until they start to turn gold (or start sticking to the pan).

Remove from heat and stir in cubed cheese. Divide potato mix evenly between muffin tins. Add shredded cheese and cook for 15-20 minutes until golden and bubbling.

Nids de Tartiflette

Nids de Tartiflette printable recipe

Leave a Reply

